Toy Soldiers in Adverts # 1

image
Not sure of any maker but a traditional toy soldier is here used to advertise Talk Talk’s security features protecting the family and home c. 2011? 
image
Talk Talk advert 
image
Slightly more Nutcracker / Danish type guardsman for this past Talk Talk advert UK c. 2011?

In no way do I endorse these product and or companies, I merely found the toy soldier aspects of the advert interesting. They are a few scraps from my toy soldier scrapbook.

In view of fears over hacking and cyber security, this traditional familiar childhood toy guardsman is supposed to be reassuring.

image

image

Slightly more modern, a moisturising tank and the toy soldier as guardians of your immune system. “A strong immune system is your best line of defence.”  This advert features one of my favourite pound store plastic warriors in front of the Aloe Vera  tank!

https://poundstoreplasticwarriors.wordpress.com/2016/10/06/pound-store-space-marines/

Posted by Mark, Man of TIN blog.

Author: 26soldiersoftin

Hello I'm Mark Mr MIN, Man of TIN. Based in S.W. Britain, I'm a lifelong collector of "tiny men" and old toy soldiers, whether tin, lead or childhood vintage 1960s and 1970s plastic figures. I randomly collect all scales and periods and "imagi-nations" as well as lead civilians, farm and zoo animals. I enjoy the paint possibilities of cheap poundstore plastic figures as much as the patina of vintage metal figures. Befuddled by the maths of complex boardgames and wargames, I prefer the small scale skirmish simplicity of very early Donald Featherstone rules. To relax, I usually play solo games, often using hex boards. Gaming takes second place to making or convert my own gaming figures from polymer clay (Fimo), home-cast metal figures of many scales or plastic paint conversions. I also collect and game with vintage Peter Laing 15mm metal figures, wishing like many others that I had bought more in the 1980s ...

2 thoughts on “Toy Soldiers in Adverts # 1”

  1. Interesting to see. I guess they also tap into the nostalgia market too. Be nice to see them feature in one of the big , eagerly awaited adverts of folk like M&S. I wonder also if there is a link subconsciously to the Hans Christian Anderson story and the toy soldier as symbol of fidelity.
    Alan

    Like

  2. I agree Alan, I think you’re right about the symbol of fidelity. Even the white cross belts etc suggest that they are a mix of British guardsman and Danish life guards, so I think there are echoes of Anderson’s Steadfast Tin Soldier here.
    One day, one glorious day, the Tiny Men will have their M&S style Christmas moment I’m sure ….
    Mark, Man of TIN blog

    Like

Leave a Reply

